favourite photos of 2016

This past year has been a productive one for my photography. I made an active effort to carve out small pockets of space and time to take more photos. I took walks around my neighbourhood and campus and brought along my camera. I treated trips like creative assignments, like when I shot a road trip to Banff completely in black and white. I actually sat down with the manual for my Fujifilm x20 and put in a few hours learning how the different settings translated into imagery. Spending time with friends and family offered ample subject matter and, just as important, offered lessons in knowing when to put the camera down and enjoy the company.

I selected my favourite ten photos of the year. Most of them are candid portraits of my inner circles or shots of places on my commute to class or work. Next year I want to work more with staging shots and more elaborate setups. I have a colourful portrait series I’m cooking up and I’d like to photograph some of my knits outside.

dscf7772
February: Western campus under a blanket of snow
tumblr_oc0bnbt8k31s5w02qo8_r1_1280
April: road trip break at the Sask-Alberta border
dscf8083
April: giant T-rex in Drumheller, Alberta
dscf8130
June: my sister’s graduation (with honours!)
dscf8295
August: my best friend, beautiful mama, after her baby shower
dscf8419
August: niece in streetlights, driving home from the beach
dscf8461
August: godson concentrating
dscf8510
August: a friend at the beach
dscf8869
September: my love, a portrait
dscf8935
October: a foggy Ottawa street
Leave a Reply

